
About 40% of known hit-and-run drivers in fatal crashes had no valid driver's license, according to a March 2026 AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety study. That statistic explains why most insurers reject an application with a blank license field. Owning a car without a license is still legal, though, and GEICO alone writes these policies in all 50 states, per MoneyGeek, for buyers like a parent whose teen drives, a retiree who stopped driving after surgery, or a new U.S. resident holding only a foreign license.
Yes. You can buy car insurance without a license by calling an insurer directly, showing a state ID or passport, and listing a licensed driver as the primary operator. MoneyGeek's May 2026 analysis found GEICO charges $43 a month for liability-only coverage in that setup.
Can You Get Car Insurance Without a License?
You can, but not through an online quote form. Every major carrier's web application asks for a driver's license number, and MoneyGeek's 2026 testing found those forms reject applicants who leave it blank. Calling an agent or the insurer's phone line is the only reliable route.
Insurers want your license number because it unlocks your Motor Vehicle Report (MVR), the state record of your tickets, accidents, and suspensions. Without an MVR, a carrier like Progressive or State Farm has no driving history to price, so it either declines you or rates you as a high-risk customer. The Zebra puts the 2026 national average at $1,162 for a six-month policy, and unlicensed applicants usually pay more than that.
Your realistic options depend on one question: who will actually drive the car? Answer that honestly, and the right policy structure follows from it. If the situation is reversed and you hold a license but own no car, you need non-owner car insurance instead.
Six Situations Where Unlicensed Owners Buy Coverage
| Your Situation | Who Is Listed as Driver | Coverage to Buy | Carriers to Call First | Typical Monthly Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Someone else drives your car | Licensed household member as primary | Liability or full coverage | GEICO, Travelers, Progressive | $43 to $98 |
| Teen with a learner's permit | Parent as policyholder, teen added | Parent's existing policy | State Farm, GEICO | About $227 extra ($2,718/yr) |
| Suspended license | You, with SR-22 or FR-44 filing | State minimum liability plus filing | Progressive, GEICO | $100 to $250 plus $15 to $50 fee |
| Car parked or in storage | Nobody | Comprehensive-only | GEICO | $40 to $75 |
| Foreign or international license | You, on the foreign license | Standard or high-risk policy | Commonwealth, Direct Auto, The Hartford | $148 to $429 |
| Medical condition, no longer drives | Caregiver or relative | Standard policy | The Hartford, State Farm | Priced on the caregiver's record |
Source: MoneyGeek 2026 rate analysis (liability, full coverage, parked car, SR-22), MoneyGeek teen driver data (learner's permit), and The Zebra's 2026 high-risk carrier averages (foreign license range). Costs vary by state, ZIP code, vehicle, and the listed driver's record.
Someone Else Drives Your Car
Listing a licensed spouse, adult child, or roommate as the primary driver is the most common setup, and MoneyGeek calls it standard industry practice. You stay the named insured and vehicle owner, while the insurer prices the policy on the primary driver's MVR. GEICO quoted $43 a month for liability-only coverage and $98 for full coverage in MoneyGeek's 2026 analysis, with Travelers slightly cheaper at $97 for full coverage.
Pick the licensed driver with the cleanest record if you have a choice, because the carrier prices the entire policy on that person's MVR, tickets and accidents included.
You Have a Learner's Permit
Permit holders almost never buy their own policy. Most carriers, including State Farm and GEICO, extend a parent's coverage to a supervised permit driver, though many require you to add the teen by name once the permit is issued. MoneyGeek's 2026 data shows adding a child to a parent's policy costs $2,718 a year, compared with $5,108 for a separate policy, a savings of $2,390. Call your agent the week the permit arrives, and review our breakdown of what adding a 16-year-old costs before the full license kicks the rate higher.
Your License Is Suspended
A suspension usually triggers an SR-22 certificate, which your insurer files with the state DMV to prove you carry at least minimum liability. Progressive charged $100 to $250 a month for SR-22 policies in MoneyGeek's 2026 review, plus a one-time filing fee of $15 to $50. Florida and Virginia require the stricter FR-44 after a DUI, and those policies run $1,200 to $3,200 a year. Our guide to insurance after a license suspension walks through reinstatement state by state, and the SR-22 cost and timeline guide covers how long the filing stays on your record.
Eight states, including New York, Pennsylvania, and North Carolina, skip the SR-22 entirely and simply require proof of active coverage before reinstatement, according to MoneyGeek.
Your Car Is Parked or in Storage
Comprehensive-only coverage, often called parked-car or storage insurance, protects a vehicle nobody drives from theft, vandalism, fire, hail, and falling trees. GEICO's parked-car rates ranged from $40 to $75 a month in MoneyGeek's 2026 analysis, and no driver needs to be listed. Keeping this coverage also prevents a gap in your insurance history; our coverage lapse guide shows how a break of even 30 days can raise future quotes. Collectors storing a vintage vehicle should compare this against a classic car insurance policy, which often costs less for low-mileage cars.
You Hold a Foreign or International License
Commonwealth, Advantage Auto, and Direct Auto may accept a state-issued ID in place of a U.S. license, according to The Zebra, and several regional carriers will rate a foreign license. Expect high-risk pricing at first, since no U.S. insurer can pull your overseas driving record. Our car insurance guide for new immigrants lists the documents to bring and the states that recognize foreign licenses longest.
You No Longer Drive for Medical Reasons
Seniors and people with vision loss, seizure disorders, or mobility limits often keep the car so a caregiver can drive them to appointments. List the caregiver as the primary driver, and ask the carrier whether you need to be formally excluded or can be marked as a non-driver, since some insurers, including The Hartford, handle non-driving policyholders routinely.
Which Insurance Companies Cover Unlicensed Drivers?
GEICO insures unlicensed vehicle owners in all 50 states, according to MoneyGeek, and handles SR-22 filings and parked-car policies. Progressive accepts unlicensed owners and files both SR-22 and FR-44 certificates, while State Farm is most flexible with families adding permit holders. Read our full GEICO review and Progressive review for discount and claims details, and see the Travelers review for the carrier with the lowest full-coverage rate in this scenario.
Smaller and non-standard carriers fill the gap when national brands say no. The Zebra lists Acceptance, Access, Foremost, The Hartford, Mendota, and OnGuard as companies that may cover you with a state ID, passport, or foreign license. Their 2026 averages range widely.
| Insurance Company | Monthly Rate | 6-Month Rate | Annual Rate | vs. $1,162 National 6-Month Average |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Infinity Lowest | $148 | $885 | $1,770 | -24% (saves $277) |
| Grange | $159 | $951 | $1,902 | -18% (saves $211) |
| National General | $159 | $954 | $1,908 | -18% (saves $208) |
| Mercury | $189 | $1,134 | $2,268 | -2% (saves $28) |
| The Hartford | $202 | $1,209 | $2,418 | +4% (costs $47 more) |
| Foremost | $284 | $1,702 | $3,404 | +46% (costs $540 more) |
| Bristol West | $290 | $1,737 | $3,474 | +49% (costs $575 more) |
| Mendota | $339 | $2,035 | $4,070 | +75% (costs $873 more) |
| Hallmark | $350 | $2,101 | $4,202 | +81% (costs $939 more) |
| Dairyland | $429 | $2,576 | $5,152 | +122% (costs $1,414 more) |
Source: The Zebra, 2026 average rates for high-risk auto insurers that may accept alternatives to a U.S. driver's license, built from ZIP-level rate filings via Quadrant Information Services and S&P Global. The $1,162 benchmark is The Zebra's 2026 national six-month average. Annual figures are six-month rates doubled.
The spread matters. Choosing Infinity over Dairyland saves $3,382 a year, or about $282 a month, for the same basic need. Get at least three quotes, and ask an independent agent to shop the regional carriers you won't find on comparison sites; our list of the best high-risk car insurance companies adds more names to call.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost Without a License?
Cost swings more with the policy structure than with the carrier. A licensed primary driver keeps you near standard pricing, while insuring yourself on a suspended or foreign license puts you in high-risk territory.
| Scenario | Carrier | Monthly Cost | Annual Cost | vs. National Average |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability-only, licensed primary driver | GEICO | $43 | $516 | 36% below |
| Full coverage, licensed primary driver | Travelers | $97 | $1,164 | 29% below |
| Full coverage, licensed primary driver | GEICO | $98 | $1,176 | About 28% below |
| Parked car, comprehensive-only | GEICO | $40 to $75 | $480 to $900 | No driver rated |
| Suspended license with SR-22 | Progressive | $100 to $250 | $1,200 to $3,000 | Plus $15 to $50 filing fee |
| DUI suspension with FR-44 (FL, VA) | Market average | $100 to $267 | $1,200 to $3,200 | Higher required limits |
Source: MoneyGeek, verified May 2026, based on 83,056 quotes from 46 insurers across 473 ZIP codes (Quadrant Information Services). Profile: 40-year-old driver, 2010 Toyota Camry LE, 12,000 annual miles, 100/300/100 liability with a $1,000 deductible. Percentages compare each rate with MoneyGeek's national average for the same coverage level.
Put the math in personal terms. The $43 GEICO liability policy costs $516 a year, while the top of the SR-22 range costs $3,000, a gap of $2,484 that a suspension adds to your budget for the three years most states require the filing. Over that period, the difference reaches $7,452.
How to Buy Car Insurance Without a License
Get a State ID or Gather Alternate Documents
Apply for a non-driver state ID at your DMV, or bring a U.S. passport or foreign license. Commonwealth, Advantage Auto, and Direct Auto accept a state ID in place of a license, per The Zebra.
Choose the Licensed Primary Driver
Pick the household member with the cleanest MVR and have their license number, date of birth, and driving history ready.
Call Instead of Applying Online
Phone GEICO at 1-800-841-3000 or Progressive at 1-866-749-7436, since both carriers' online forms require a license number.
Compare at Least Three Quotes
Ask an independent agent to add regional carriers like Infinity or Grange, which averaged $148 and $159 a month in The Zebra's 2026 data.
Tell the Truth About Your License Status
Insurers pull an MVR on every applicant, so a fake or borrowed license number shows up fast and can get your policy canceled.
The steps mirror a standard purchase in most other ways, so our step-by-step guide to buying car insurance covers choosing limits and deductibles once you have a carrier willing to write the policy.
The Excluded-Driver Trap
Some unlicensed owners are told to "exclude" themselves from their own policy so the premium ignores their missing record. A named driver exclusion means that person is not insured to drive any car on the policy, according to Progressive, and any accident they cause won't be covered. That includes moving the car in a driveway or driving a sick relative to the ER, per Insure.com.
If an excluded driver crashes, the insurer pays nothing, the excluded driver is personally liable, and the owner who handed over the keys can be sued too, according to CarInsurance.com's February 2026 guide. Insure.com adds that the policy may be canceled after the claim.
Five states refuse to allow named driver exclusions at all: Kansas, Michigan, New York, Virginia, and Wisconsin, per CarInsurance.com. Other states restrict exclusions for spouses or require the excluded person to carry separate coverage first. Check your state's rule with your agent, and read our overview of standard car insurance exclusions to see what else a policy won't pay for.
What Happens If You Drive Without a License?
An insurance policy does not make unlicensed driving legal. Every state treats it as a traffic offense or misdemeanor, and first-offense fines typically fall between $100 and $1,000, according to CarInsurance.com's July 2026 state-by-state review.
| State | Offense Class | Maximum Jail | Maximum Fine | Fine Rank (of 12) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois | Class A misdemeanor | 1 year | $2,500 | 1 (tie) |
| Virginia | Class 1 misdemeanor | 12 months | $2,500 | 1 (tie) |
| California | Misdemeanor | 6 months | $1,000 | 3 (tie) |
| Ohio | Unclassified misdemeanor | Not specified | $1,000 | 3 (tie) |
| Florida | 2nd degree misdemeanor | 60 days | $500 | 5 (tie) |
| Georgia | Misdemeanor | 1 year | $500 | 5 (tie) |
| Michigan | Misdemeanor | 93 days | $500 | 5 (tie) |
| New Jersey | Traffic offense | Not specified | $500 | 5 (tie) |
| New York | Misdemeanor | 30 days | $500 | 5 (tie) |
| Texas | Class C misdemeanor | None | $500 | 5 (tie) |
| North Carolina | Class 3 misdemeanor | 10 days | $200 | 11 (tie) |
| Pennsylvania | Summary offense | Not specified | $200 | 11 (tie) |
Source: CarInsurance.com, first-offense penalties for driving without a license, updated July 7, 2026. Pennsylvania also extends an existing suspension by 1 year, and Ohio can add up to 500 hours of community service. Penalties for a suspended or revoked license are often steeper than for never having been licensed.
The insurance fallout often costs more than the fine. An arrest for driving on a suspended or revoked license can raise premiums 25% to 30%, per CarInsurance.com, which adds about $291 a year to a $97 monthly policy. A crash is far worse, because a carrier can deny the claim when the at-fault driver was unlicensed or excluded, leaving the owner and driver to pay out of pocket.
Regulators take it seriously for a reason. The AAA Foundation's 2011 "Unlicensed to Kill" report found drivers with invalid or no licenses were involved in 19.9% of fatal crashes and were 9.5 times as likely as licensed drivers to flee the scene. Its 2026 follow-up counted 2,872 hit-and-run deaths in 2023, with 40% of identified fatal hit-and-run drivers lacking a valid license. Those numbers feed directly into the uninsured motorist coverage every licensed driver pays for.
Can You Register or Buy a Car Without a License?
You can buy a car with cash or financing and no license, and many DMVs register vehicles with any valid photo ID, such as a U.S. passport, according to SoFi. Massachusetts, for example, only requires proof of lawful U.S. presence to register a vehicle. Some states do tie registration to an in-state license, so check your DMV's document list before you visit.
Most states also demand proof of insurance before issuing plates, which is why you should line up the policy first. Dealers may ask for a license before a test drive, so bring your licensed primary driver along to the lot.
Call your insurer 2 to 3 days before you pick up the car, give them the VIN from the bill of sale, and ask them to email the insurance card so the DMV clerk can register the vehicle on the same visit.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. Call an insurer such as GEICO, Progressive, or State Farm directly, provide a state ID or passport, and list a licensed driver as the primary operator. Online quote forms require a license number and will reject a blank application.
GEICO insures unlicensed vehicle owners in all 50 states, according to MoneyGeek, and Progressive and State Farm also write these policies. Smaller carriers including Commonwealth, Direct Auto, Acceptance, Foremost, The Hartford, and Mendota may accept a state ID or foreign license, per The Zebra.
With a licensed primary driver, GEICO charged $43 a month for liability-only and $98 for full coverage in MoneyGeek's 2026 analysis. Parked-car coverage runs $40 to $75 a month, and high-risk carriers averaged $148 to $429 a month in The Zebra's 2026 data.
Yes. Most states require an SR-22 filing, and Progressive charged $100 to $250 a month plus a $15 to $50 filing fee in MoneyGeek's 2026 review. Florida and Virginia require an FR-44 after a DUI, which costs $1,200 to $3,200 a year.
Yes. The vehicle owner can be the named insured while a licensed household member is listed as the primary driver, and the insurer prices the policy on that driver's record. Kansas, Michigan, New York, Virginia, and Wisconsin ban named driver exclusions, so ask your agent how your state handles a non-driving owner.
Yes. Insurance does not replace a license, and first-offense fines run $100 to $1,000 in most states, reaching $2,500 in Illinois and Virginia, according to CarInsurance.com. Your insurer may also deny a claim if you crash while unlicensed.
- MoneyGeek - Car Insurance Without a License: Companies, Cost and How to Get It (2026)
- The Zebra - Can You Get Car Insurance Without a License?
- CarInsurance.com - Driving Without a License: Penalties by State
- CarInsurance.com - What Is a Named Driver Exclusion on a Car Insurance Policy?
- Progressive - What Is an Excluded Driver on a Car Insurance Policy?
- Insure.com - Named Driver Exclusion: How It Affects Your Car Insurance
- AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety - Fatal Hit-and-Run Crashes Reach Record High (March 2026)
- AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety - Unlicensed to Kill (2011)
- MoneyGeek - Adding Your Child to Car Insurance
- SoFi - Can You Register a Car Without a License?
